The design teams of Toyota for the concept car Compact Cruiser EV, Ferrari for the 296 GTB and Polestar for its Brand Design Language are the winners of the 2022 Car Design Award, the Oscar of world car design established in 1984 by Auto&Design magazine. The award ceremony was held in Milan at the prestigious ADI Design Museum today, during the Milano Design Week.

The Car Design Award has three categories since 2016: “Concept Cars”, “Production Cars” and “Brand Design Language”, an award given to the design team that has stood out for the consistency and transversality of its brand’s formal language across the whole product range.

Toyota Compact Cruiser Ev

Here are the winners of the 2022 edition, chosen from a shortlist of ten finalists: in the Concept Cars section, the Toyota design team for its Compact Cruiser EV project, in second place the Polestar design team for the O2, in third place the Astheimer Design team for its Aura.

Ferrari 296 GTB

For Production Cars, the best design award went to Ferrari design for its 296 GTB, in second place ex aequo, the teams of DS design for the 4 and Lotus for the Eletre, on the third step of the podium, the Volkswagen team for the ID.Buzz.

For the Brand Design Language section, i.e. the design language of the whole brand, the award went to the Polestar team, the Ferrari and Kia design teams are in second and third places respectively.

The winners’ trophies, with their unique design, were made by Brembo, a partner of the initiative since the award was revived in the 2000s. The winners were chosen by a jury of experts, all journalists from leading international automotive publications, for an objective assessment of the global car design scene: Silvia Baruffaldi (Auto&Design, Italy), Luca Ciferri (Automotive News Europe, EU), Juan Carlos Payo Calderon (Autopista, Spain), Dhruv Behl (AutoX, India), Tetsuya Kato (Car Graphic, Japan), Stéphane Meunier (L’Automobile Magazine, France), Jun Miao (MJ CarShow, China), Paulo Campo Grande (Quatro Rodas, Brazil), Michael Köckritz (Ramp, Germany), Kibeom Kim (Roadtest, Korea), Andy Franklin (Top Gear, UK).


Anno Concept Cars Production Cars Brand Design Language
2016 Mazda RX-Vision Aston Martin DB11 Volvo Cars
2017 Jaguar I-Pace Ford GT Land Rover
2018 Honda Urban EV Jaguar E-Pace Volvo Cars
2019 Alfa Romeo Tonale Peugeot 208 Citroën
2020 Hyundai Prophecy Ferrari Roma Porsche
2021 Canoo Pick-up EV Land Rover Defender 90 Peugeot

For the regulations, history of the Car Design Award, information about the award and photos: